Social Security Disability Benefits

Social Security Disability Benefits

Disability defined

The Social Security Act defines disability as a “person’s inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can be expected to result in death or has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months”.

Social Security Disability Benefits

There are five major types of Social Security Disability Benefits:

  1. Disability Insurance Benefits
  2. Disabled Widow’s and Widower’s Benefits
  3. Disabled Adult Child Benefits
  4. Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits
  5. SSI Child’s Disability benefits

Disability Insurance Benefits

This type is the most important amongst the Social Security Disability Benefits. Such is provided to individuals who have worked for at least 10 years in the US and who have now become disabled.

Disabled Widow’s and Widower’s Benefits

These benefits are paid to individuals who are at least 50 years of age and have become disabled within a certain amount of time after the death of their husbands or wives. The late husband or wife must have worked enough to be insured by Social Security.

See also: Questions to ask oneself before making an online will

Disabled Adult Child Benefits

Such benefits are granted to children whose parents become deceased or disabled. In order to qualify, the child must have experienced this before age 22. It is important to know that for Disability Insurance Benefits, Disabled Widow’s or Widower’s Benefits and Disabled Adult Child Benefits, it is immaterial whether the disabled individual is rich or poor. Benefits are granted based upon a record of Social Security earnings.

Supplemental Security Income Benefits

This type of Social Security Disability Benefits is given to individuals who are poor and are disabled. It is not a basis here whether an individual has worked in the past or not.

SSI Child’s Disability Benefits

These benefits are paid to children who become disabled under the age of 18. The way in which disability is being determined here is a bit different for children.

More to read: Property Lawyers Sydney